Who has never heard of the little wizard « Harry Potter » ? The simple fact of hearing his name evokes in us (in me at least) a strange feeling of joy, impatience, cheerfulness, overexcitement and thrill.

A wizard created in the midst of a depression

Our dear Harry Potter almost didn’t exist. Yes yes, the author J.K. Rowling really struggled before she gave birth to Harry Potter.

The death of her parents and her separation from her husband completely disrupted J.K. Rowling’s life (Joanne Rowling by her real name). She had become depressed and let herself go to such an extent that she lost her job.

Her depression, which had begun long before the writing of the first volume « Harry Potter at the Wizard’s School », acted as a brake on her. And when, despite everything, she was finally able to finish her work, none of the publishing houses of that time wanted to publish it. Through perseverance, she managed to contact a publisher who gave her copy to her very young daughter. The little girl immediately loved the book and was even eager to read the rest.

Given the popularity of his novels, who would have thought that the future of our beloved lightning scar wizard was based on the advice of a little girl ! To say that nothing predestined the saga for its global success.

It should also be remembered that his depression also helped J.K. Rowling to better reflect his feelings in his book. It was from there that she alternated humour, fear and anguish, all with a touch of maturity that brought us down to earth. She knows how to make us think not only when we plunge into reading her works, but also into real life.

J.K. Rowling, the woman who gave birth to this superb saga
J.K. Rowling, the woman who gave birth to this superb saga

A well written and captivating story

In concrete terms, with its 7 volumes and its 8th official « volume » that completes the saga (in fact, a play that tells the story 19 years later), Harry Potter is a fantastic literary series. We follow the adventures of a young boy of the same name and his friends Ron Weisley and Hermione Granger at Hogwarts, a witchcraft school.

The main plot of the story tells of the almost permanent confrontation between the « little Potter » (nickname given to Harry by Drago Malefoy and Peeves) and Lord Voldemort. The latter, the main antagonist of the series, killed Harry’s parents to satisfy his thirst for power, including immortality.

The story takes place in a London of the 90s and tells the story of the « chosen one » (one of Harry’s nicknames) : a little orphan wizard raised by an uncle and a tyrannical aunt. Obviously, he has no idea who he really is and gradually discovers his history (his powers, the sad death of his parents, etc.) and especially his destiny.

Each book is spread over a whole school year at Poudlard School. On the 7 volumes, we will follow Harry Potter from his first year until Lord Voldemort’s return and the final confrontation.

The saga now has 7 volumes and a play that completes the saga
The saga now has 7 volumes and a play that completes the saga

The myth of the scar

Harry discovers that not only did Lord Voldemort kill his parents, but he also tried to kill him just for fear of a prophecy that says Harry Potter would one day destroy him. But only then, Voldemort’s fate had a mirror effect (we don’t know why), which saved our hero, leaving him with only a small lightning scar on his forehead. This scar will become the distinctive mark of the little wizard (very stylish as a scar I find) and give him the status in the wizard’s world.

The pair of glasses and scar so characteristic of the Harry Potter character
The pair of glasses and scar so characteristic of the Harry Potter character

A saga that arouses emotion

History alternates between the world of the Muggle (human without power) and that of the wizards. There are plenty of fantastic animals (a reference to this other work by J.K. Rowling), breathtaking landscapes (well described, as if you were really there), not to mention the fact that you feel transported into a London of the past.

Not only does history make us live in a fantastic world, but it also makes us dream and travel. Harry Potter will make you laugh, cry, leave you speechless, think, shiver, and more.

A real work of art that I strongly recommend you to read. Yes, I mean « reading ». I’m not talking about movies, because even if movies are pretty faithful to books, there are still a lot of things they don’t show us from the Harry Potter universe !

Rupert Grint, Daniel Radcliffe and Emma Watson, the performers of the leading roles in the film saga
Rupert Grint, Daniel Radcliffe and Emma Watson, the performers of the leading roles in the film saga

But hey, everyone has a say. So read and make your own opinion about Harry Potter and his world.

Read also :

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Qui n’a jamais entendu parler du petit sorcier « Harry Potter » ? Le simple fait d’entendre son nom évoque en nous (en moi en tout cas) une sensation étrange de joie, d’impatience, de gaieté, de surexcitation et de frisson.

Un sorcier créé en pleine dépression

Notre cher Harry Potter a bien failli ne pas exister. Oui oui, l’auteure J.K.Rowling a vraiment galéré avant d’enfanter d’Harry Potter.

La mort de ses parents et sa séparation d’avec son mari ont entièrement bouleversé la vie de J.K. Rowling (Joanne Rowling de son vrai nom). Elle était devenue dépressive et se laissait aller à tel point qu’elle a perdu son travail.

Sa dépression, qui avait commencé bien avant l’écriture du premier tome « Harry Potter à l’école des sorciers », agissait sur elle comme un frein. Et quand malgré tout, elle a enfin pu terminer son œuvre, aucune des maisons d’édition de cette époque n’a voulu la publier. À force de persévérance, elle a réussi à contacter un éditeur qui a donné sa copie à sa très jeune fille. La petite fille a tout de suite adoré le bouquin et même qu’elle était impatiente de lire la suite.

Vu la popularité de ses romans, qui aurait pu croire que l’avenir de notre très cher sorcier à la cicatrice en éclair reposait sur l’avis d’une petite fille ! Pour dire que rien ne prédestinait la saga à son succès planétaire.

Il ne faut pas oublier non plus que sa dépression a aussi aidé J.K.Rowling à mieux retranscrire ses sentiments dans son livre. C’est de là qu’elle a su alterner l’humour, la peur et l’angoisse, le tout avec un zeste de maturité qui nous fait redescendre sur terre. Elle sait nous faire réfléchir non seulement quand on plonge dans la lecture de ses œuvres, mais aussi dans la vie réelle.

J.K.Rowling, la femme qui a donné naissance à cette superbe saga
J.K.Rowling, la femme qui a donné naissance à cette superbe saga

Une histoire bien écrite et captivante

Concrètement, avec ses 7 tomes et son 8e « tome » officiel qui vient compléter la saga (en fait, une pièce de théâtre qui raconte l’histoire 19 ans après), Harry Potter est une série littéraire fantastique. On y suit les aventures d’un jeune garçon du même nom et de ces amis Ron Weisley et Hermione Granger à Poudlard, une école de sorcellerie.

La trame principale de l’histoire raconte l’affrontement quasi permanent opposant le « petit Potter » (surnom donné à Harry par Drago Malefoy et Peeves) à Lord Voldemort. Ce dernier, principal antagoniste de la série, a tué les parents de Harry pour assouvir sa soif de pouvoir, et notamment d’immortalité.

L’histoire se déroule dans un Londres des années 90 et raconte la vie de « l’élu » (l’un des surnoms d’Harry) : un petit sorcier orphelin élevé par un oncle et une tante tyrannique. Évidemment, il n’a aucune idée de qui il est vraiment et fait petit à petit la découverte de son histoire (ses pouvoirs, la triste mort de ses parents, etc.) et surtout de son destin.

Chacun des livres s’étale sur toute une année scolaire à l’école Poudlard. Sur les 7 tomes donc, on suivra Harry Potter depuis sa première année jusqu’au retour de Lord Voldemort et à l’affrontement final.

La saga compte aujourd'hui 7 tomes et une pièce de théâtre qui vient compléter la saga
La saga compte aujourd’hui 7 tomes et une pièce de théâtre qui vient compléter la saga

Le mythe de la cicatrice

Harry découvre que non seulement Lord Voldemort a tué ses parents, mais il a aussi tenté de le tuer juste par peur d’une prophétie qui dit que Harry Potter l’anéantirait un jour. Mais seulement voilà, le sort de Voldemort a eu un effet miroir (on ne sait pas pourquoi), ce qui a sauvé notre héros, ne lui laissant qu’une petite cicatrice en forme d’éclair sur le front. Cette cicatrice va devenir la marque distinctive du petit sorcier (très stylé comme cicatrice je trouve) et lui donner la cote dans le monde des sorciers.

La paire de lunettes et la cicatrice si caractéristiques au personnage de Harry Potter
La paire de lunettes et la cicatrice si caractéristiques au personnage de Harry Potter

Une saga qui suscite de l’émotion

L’histoire alterne entre le monde des Moldus (humains sans pouvoirs) et celui des sorciers. Il y a plein d’animaux fantastiques (clin d’œil à cette autre œuvre de J.K.Rowling), des paysages à couper le souffle (bien décrit, comme si on y était pour de vrai), sans parler du fait que l’on se sent transporter dans un Londres du passé.

Non seulement l’histoire nous fait vivre dans un monde fantastique, mais elle nous fait rêver et nous fait voyager. Harry Potter vous fera rire, pleurer, vous laissera sans-voix, vous fera réfléchir, frissonner, et plus encore.

Une vraie œuvre d’art dont je vous conseille vivement la lecture. Oui je dis bien « lecture ». Je ne parle pas des films, car même si les films sont assez fidèles aux livres, il y a encore beaucoup de choses qu’on ne nous montre pas de l’univers d’Harry Potter !

Rupert Grint, Daniel Radcliffe et Emma Watson, les interprètes des rôles principaux de la saga au cinéma
Rupert Grint, Daniel Radcliffe et Emma Watson, les interprètes des rôles principaux de la saga au cinéma

Mais bon, chacun a son mot à dire. Alors, lisez et faites vous-même votre propre opinion sur Harry Potter et son monde.

Découvrez également ici un article sur le phénomène After : le roman qui fait sensation sur la toile.

Écrivez un Commentaire

avatar
  S'abonner  
Me notifier des