E-commerce in Madagascar 2017 [Poll results]

25/11/2017. Here are the results of a survey on e-commerce in Madagascar conducted in November 2017 on a sample of 2735 people. This survey was conducted by the Stileex team. You are free to distribute and use the content of this article, including images, in exchange for a link to this article.

Analysis of the survey on online sales in Madagascar

Non-consumers

We realize after this study that online sales in Madagascar are still underdeveloped. Only one person out of 10 declares having already made an online purchase in Madagascar.

The two major problems hindering the development of e-commerce in Madagascar are the lack of consumer confidence (38%) and remote payment problems (30%).

Internet, a service that is still not very democratic

Indeed, the Internet penetration rate in Madagascar is still far too low: 5.4% according to a study published by ARTEC (Autorité de Régulation des Technologies de Communication) in 2015. This low penetration rate can easily be explained by the prohibitive prices charged by Malagasy Internet service providers, which are increasing year after year. It should be noted that an ADSL connection costs more than the national average wage.

No wonder the digital economy has not yet taken hold on the Big Island. It should also be noted that there are no dominant e-merchants in Madagascar, with most online shoppers going through Facebook. There is therefore no industry leader to give the impetus towards the sustained development of e-commerce.

Remote payments

Payment problems come second. The rate of banking is very low in Madagascar. In 2016 less than 4% of the population will have a bank account according to the Central Bank.

So forget about online payments with Visa or Mastercard. You have to turn to mobile banking for remote payments. On this subject, I refer you to a previous study that was conducted in early 2017 on mobile money in Madagascar. According to this survey, 87% of the respondents said they had a Mvola, Orange money or Airtel money account.

Mobile banking is still poorly adapted to online sales, despite the efforts of some operators to develop APIs (sort of programs) to communicate their service with online shops. It should be noted that one operator, Orange, even makes e-merchants pay for the purchase of its API… This obviously adds an additional brake to the development of e-commerce in Madagascar.

The good news: more than half (55%) of people who have never made an online purchase say they are ready to take the plunge!

The most purchased products on the Internet

Unsurprisingly, hi-tech products (telephones, computer equipment, etc.) and ready-to-wear dominate the online sales market, with shares of 23.94% and 23.24% respectively.

This is not very surprising given the number of online sellers on Facebook who offer these products.

Then come services (such as Simafri web hosting), furniture (with notably the main player in this segment bonmarche.mg) and food.

83.13% of products and services purchased on the Internet are for personal needs, compared with 16.87% for professional expenses.

Frequency and average shopping basket

Internet shopping in Madagascar is very sporadic: less than 2 online purchases per year for 36.9% of people who have already bought online. People who buy less than 6 times a year, i.e. less than once every two months, still represent more than 2/3 of the people surveyed (71.42%).

This low purchase frequency cannot be explained by a poor customer experience, as more than half of Internet consumers say they are satisfied or very satisfied with the service provided by e-merchants. 43.21% of respondents say they had a fair experience and only 1.23% regret having bought on the Internet.

As for the average amount of the shopping baskets, it is fairly uniform, with a predominance for the 20,000 to 100,000 Ar expenditure bracket. It should be noted that Internet purchases exceeding 500,000 Ar are quite common in Madagascar.

Most used payment methods for e-commerce

As we saw earlier, the rate of bancarisation in Madagascar is very low. So, not surprisingly, payments with Visa/Mastercard and via services such as Paypal are little used, with less than one person in 10.

Similarly, it is not surprising that almost a third (29.42%) of respondents say they use mobile banking to pay for their online purchases.

However, what is remarkable is that the method of payment most used in Madagascar for e-commerce is … cash! This method of payment is preferred by 42.16% of respondents. This shows the technological backwardness of the digital economy in the Big Island.

The predominance of cash payments can be explained by the lack of confidence in remote payments in Madagascar, but also by sales platforms that are not sufficiently advanced (Facebook accounts, website without basket management, etc.).

Note that e-merchants are starting to make their business more automated by using Openflex sales management ERPs such as e-Tsena or J’ShoOpin.

In conclusion

I am convinced that e-commerce in Madagascar is still in its infancy, and that it has a great future ahead of it. In fact, I have already had concrete experience in this field myself and I consider online sales to be an effective way to make money in Madagascar.

However, in order to succeed, e-merchants must give themselves the means to do so: a bug-free, aesthetic and well-referenced online shop, process automation software such as the excellent Openflex, more elaborate marketing, the use of management tools such as CRM software, real monitoring of web-related KPIs, etc.

I also believe that it is not mandatory to follow the path that online sales have taken in Europe. For example, focusing on mobile sales before even selling via a website can be more innovative, efficient and more adapted to emerging markets.

The development of e-commerce in Madagascar must also go through a democratization of the Internet, therefore a decrease in the prices charged by ISPs…

Procedure for this study

The survey was conducted online with a sample of 2735 people, broken down as follows:

LikePercentage
Woman45,36%
Man54,64%
AgePercentage
Under 18 years old6,00%
Between 18 and 25 years old25,39%
Between 26 and 35 years old27,76%
Between 36 and 45 years old21,65%
Between 46 and 60 years old13,39%
Over 60 years old5,81%
City of residencePercentage
Antananarivo58,87%
Majunga8,83%
Tamatave8,11%
Fianarantsoa7,56%
Antsirabe6,13%
Tuléar4,30%
Diego Suarez3,34%
Other2,86%

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Voici les résultats d’un sondage sur l’e-commerce à Madagascar réalisé en novembre 2017 sur un échantillon de 2735 personnes. Ce sondage a été conduit par l’équipe Stileex. Vous êtes libre de diffuser et de reprendre le contenu de cet article, y compris les images, en contrepartie d’un lien vers cet article.

Résultat du sondage sur l’e-commerce à Madagascar

L'e-commerce à Madagascar
L’e-commerce à Madagascar en 2017

Vous pouvez télécharger la version PDF de cette étude sur l’e-commerce à Madagascar en cliquant ici.

Analyse du sondage sur la vente en ligne à Madagascar

Les non-consommateurs

On se rend compte après cette étude que la vente en ligne à Madagascar est encore peu développée. Une personne sur 10 seulement déclare avoir déjà effectué un achat en ligne à Madagascar.

Les deux problèmes majeurs qui freinent le développement du commerce en ligne à Madagascar est le manque de confiance des consommateurs (38%) et les problèmes de paiement à distance (30%).

Internet, un service encore peu démocratisé

En effet, le taux de pénétration d’Internet à Madagascar est encore beaucoup trop faible : 5,4% selon une étude publiée par l’ARTEC (Autorité de Régulation des Technologies de Communication) en 2015. Ce faible taux de pénétration s’explique facilement par les prix rédhibitoires pratiqués par les fournisseurs d’accès à Internet malgaches, lesquels augmentent d’année en année. Il faut savoir qu’une connexion ADSL coûte plus cher que le salaire moyen national…

Pas étonnant que l’économie numérique ne soit pas encore rentrée dans mœurs dans la Grande Île. Il faut aussi souligner qu’il n’existe pas de e-commerçants dominant à Madagascar, la plupart des acheteurs en ligne passant par Facebook. Il n’y a donc pas de leader du secteur pour donner l’impulsion vers le développement soutenu du e-commerce.

Les paiements à distance

Les problèmes de paiement viennent en second lieu. Le taux de bancarisation est très faible à Madagascar. En 2016 moins de 4% de la population possèdent un compte bancaire selon la Banque Centrale.

Donc oubliez les paiements en ligne avec une carte Visa ou Mastercard. Il faut se tourner vers le mobile banking pour les paiements à distance. À ce sujet, je vous renvoie à une précédente étude qui a été effectuée en début 2017 sur le mobile money à Madagascar. Selon ce sondage, 87% des personnes interrogées déclarent avoir un compte Mvola, Orange money ou Airtel money.

Le mobile banking est encore peu adapté à la vente en ligne, malgré les efforts de certains opérateurs pour développer des API (des sortes de programmes) pour faire communiquer leur service avec les boutiques en ligne. À noter qu’un opérateur, Orange, fait même payer l’achat de son API aux e-commerçants… Ce qui évidemment ajoute un frein supplémentaire au développement du e-commerce à Madagascar.

La bonne nouvelle : plus de la moitié (55%) des personnes qui n’ont jamais fait d’achat en ligne se disent prêtes à sauter le pas !

Les produits les plus achetés sur Internet

Sans surprise, les produits hi-tech (téléphones, matériels informatiques, etc.) et le prêt-à-porter dominent le marché de la vente en ligne, avec respectivement 23,94% et 23,24% des parts.

Ce n’est pas très étonnant vu la quantité de vendeurs en ligne sur Facebook qui proposent ces produits.

Viennent ensuite les services (comme les hébergements web Simafri), le mobilier (avec notamment l’acteur principal sur ce segment bonmarche.mg) et la nourriture.

83,13% des produits et services achetés sur Internet concernent des besoins personnels, contre 16,87% pour les dépenses professionnelles.

Fréquence et panier moyen d’achat

Les achats sur Internet à Madagascar sont réalisés de manière très sporadique : moins de 2 achats en ligne par an pour 36,9% des personnes qui ont déjà acheté en ligne. Les personnes qui achètent moins de 6 fois par an, soit moins d’une fois tous les deux mois, représentent tout de même plus des 2/3 des personnes interrogées (71,42%).

Cette faible fréquence d’achat ne peut d’ailleurs pas s’expliquer par une mauvaise expérience client car plus de la moitié des consommateurs sur Internet déclarent être satisfaits ou très satisfaits par le service des e-commerçants. 43,21% des personnes interrogées disent avoir vécu une expérience passable et seulement 1,23% regrettent d’avoir acheté sur Internet.

Quant au montant moyen des paniers d’achat, il est assez uniforme, avec une prédominance pour la tranche de dépenses allant de 20 000 à 100 000 Ar. À noter que les achats sur Internet dépassant les 500 000 Ar sont assez répandus à Madagascar.

Modes de paiement les plus utilisés pour le e-commerce

Comme on l’a vu précédemment, le taux de bancarisation à Madagascar est très faible. Donc, sans surprise, les paiements avec une carte Visa/Mastercard et via des services comme Paypal sont peu utilisés, avec moins d’une personne sur 10.

De même, le fait que près d’un tiers (29,42%) des personnes interrogées déclarent utiliser le mobile banking pour payer leurs achats en ligne n’a rien de surprenant.

Par contre, ce qui est remarquable est que le mode de paiement le plus utilisé à Madagascar pour l’e-commerce est… les espèces! Ce mode de paiement est privilégié par 42,16% des personnes sondées. C’est dire le retard technologique de l’économie numérique dans la Grande Île.

La prédominance du paiement en espèces peut s’expliquer par le manque de confiance dans les paiements à distance à Madagascar, mais également par des plateformes de vente pas assez évoluées (comptes Facebook, site web sans gestion de panier, etc.).

À noter que les e-commerçants commencent à rendre leur activité plus automatisée en utilisant des ERP de gestion des ventes Openflex comme par exemple e-Tsena ou J’ShoOpin.

En conclusion

Je suis persuadé que l’e-commerce à Madagascar n’en est encore qu’à ses balbutiements, et qu’il a un grand avenir devant lui. J’ai d’ailleurs déjà eu moi-même une expérience concrète dans ce domaine et je considère la vente en ligne comme un moyen efficace de gagner de l’argent à Madagascar.

Cependant, pour réussir, il faut que les e-commerçants s’en donnent les moyens : boutique en ligne sans bug, esthétique et bien référencé, logiciel d’automatisation des processus comme l’excellent Openflex, marketing plus élaboré, un vrai monitoring des KPI liés au web, etc.

Je pense également qu’il n’est pas obligatoire de suivre le cheminement qu’a connu la vente en ligne en Europe. Par exemple, orienter sa stratégie vers la vente sur mobile avant même la vente via un site web peut s’avérer plus innovant, efficace et plus adapté aux marchés émergents.

Le développement du e-commerce à Madagascar doit aussi passer par une démocratisation de l’Internet, donc une baisse des prix pratiqués par les FAI…

Mode opératoire de cette étude

Ce sondage a été réalisé en ligne sur un échantillon de 2735 personnes se répartissant de la manière suivante :

  • Sexe
    • 54,64% sont des hommes ;
    • 45,36% des femmes ;
  • Âge
    • 6% ont moins de 18 ans ;
    • 25,39% ont entre 18 et 25 ans ;
    • 27,76% ont entre 26 et 35 ans ;
    • 21,65% ont entre 36 et 45 ans ;
    • 13,39% ont entre 46 et 60 ans ;
    • 5,81% ont plus de 60 ans ;
  • Ville de résidence
    • 58,87% habitent Antananarivo ;
    • 8,83% habitent à Majunga ;
    • 8,11% habitent à Tamatave ;
    • 7,56% habitent à Fianarantsoa ;
    • 6,13% habitent à Antsirabe ;
    • 4,3% habitent à Tuléar ;
    • 3,34% habitent à Diego Suarez ;
    • 2,86% dans une ville non citée précédemment.

LAISSER UN COMMENTAIRE

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here