Contrary to what one might think, JIRA is not an acronym. It comes from the truncation of the word GOJIRA which itself comes from the Japanese name Godzilla. A way of saying how effective it is in its chosen field : project management.

What is JIRA ?

Available both for download and in the cloud, JIRA is an IT project management software developed by Atlassian Australians.

So we have :

  • JIRA Server, a downloadable offer, to be installed on its own server.
  • and JIRA Cloud, an all-in-one offer from Atlassian, in the cloud, with nothing to think about but its use.

In any case, whether in hosted or SaaS mode, the JIRA team has thought about tailoring its commercial offers according to the size of the teams, while knowing that the Cloud version is still limited to 10,000 users. Which is already a lot.

JIRA is a product of Atlassian
JIRA is a product of Atlassian

JIRA’s primary objective is to provide a coherent and multidimensional ecosystem to enable a multidisciplinary team to release its software products on time. Thus, it allows, among other things, the planning of each task, the visualization of the team’s activity, the follow-up of priorities and the creation of reports in real time. This, of course, does not prevent JIRA from being used for other projects, such as ticket management for example.

Scrum and Kanban as working methods

From the outset, JIRA proposes Scrum, Kanban and their workflows as working methods. A choice, of course.

It should be noted that Scrum and Kanban are the two most widely used Agile frameworks in the project management world. They promote greater responsiveness to customer requests (without replacing your preferred CRM software.

Overview of the JIRA Scrum

The purpose of the Scrum is to manufacture products in small increments (counted during the week) and this in an incremental way. So, instead of having to do 1 long development work over 3 months, we will have 6 2-week-old babies. That’s an example. This process is iterative and allows to have a more precise vision of a project (who does what, for when, what are the blockages, etc.).

The Scrum framework is used in JIRA
The Scrum framework is used in JIRA

In a Scrum, there are 3 roles that JIRA easily identifies : the Product owner (the representative of the end users or the customer and who knows his needs), the Scrum master (the guarantor of the application of the Scrum framework) and the rest of the development team.

Without going into the details of this framework, JIRA allows you to easily create sprints, stand-up meetings, sprints review, retrospective sprints (sprints retrospective), etc. This effectively optimizes team performance in a project.

Truly complete and customizable, JIRA allows users to customize their workflows, easily output a burndown chart, and for the Scrum master, the ability to output a sprint report at any time.

The Kanban method on JIRA

Less restrictive than Scrum and above all less complicated, Kanban allows you to visualize your workflow in the blink of an eye to prioritize tasks. Where Scrum makes you work on time-limited sprints, it is the tasks that are cut out in Kanban.

JIRA has different tools to better use the Kanban method :

  • story card : customizable with qr codes
  • swimlanes and columns : for process and task modeling
  • WIP limits (Work in Progress) : to define limits to the tasks being processed (the column turns red if exceeded)
  • workflows : predefined and customizable workflows.
A simple example of a Kanban board
A simple example of a Kanban board

Association of methods, why not ?

Does Scrumban mean anything to you ? Kanplan maybe ? If you have always dreamed of mixing the best of both worlds without entering into complicated phases of adaptation, JIRA allows you to do so with (relatively) ease thanks to its metrics. Basically, his graphs.

JIRA’s metrics are adaptive and very important because they allow, for example, to visualize the strengths of a team or to identify bottlenecks in a project. Since their use is independent of the selected framework, it is possible to precisely control a Kanban project with the right settings.

With JIRA, you can rally the best of both worlds !
With JIRA, you can rally the best of both worlds !

Start with JIRA

It is true that at first glance, JIRA may look like a gas plant. Here are seven tips corresponding to seven elements in the tool to get off to a good start with this project management software.

  1. role of users : it defines who can do what, who can see what, etc. We have to start there.
  2. the different types of requests : necessary to configure the workflow.
  3. the different fields : which go hand in hand with the different types of requests.
  4. screens, there are two types : the operation screen (ticket creation, ticket editing and verification) and the transition screen (updating workflow documents).
  5. publications (notifications) : for those who are not present, we can for example send them a report by email.
  6. security : to limit access and avoid any attempt at falsification.
  7. workflows : simply the workflows specific to Scrum and Kanban

Now you know the basics of how to experience JIRA.

What are the strengths and weaknesses of JIRA ?

Strong points

  • affordable price for small teams (10 users or less)
  • association with other applications (Salesforce, Confluence, Bitbucket, etc.)
  • mobile application
  • highly customizable
  • really powerful metrics

Weaknesses

  • requires a long adaptation time
  • version numbers difficult to find
  • interface not optimized for mass editing

In conclusion

I would say that JIRA is a real jewel of project management. Complete (too much ?) and powerful, it offers plenty of features to anyone who wants to take the trouble or has time to explore it. And that’s where the problem lies.

If JIRA makes it possible to facilitate, simplify and improve development flows, regardless of the size of the team thanks to agile methods, it requires a real adaptation time to do so. A motivation that not everyone will necessarily have. The other side of the coin to have a complete tool surely.

I therefore strongly advise you to go to the trial version to get started and only contract if you can get your hands on it. Here, trying it is not necessarily adopting it because there is so much to do !

Read also > AGILE method for software development

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Contrairement à ce que l’on pourrait penser, JIRA n’est pas un acronyme. Il vient de la troncation du mot GOJIRA qui lui-même vient du nom japonais Godzilla. Une façon de dire à quel point c’est un monstre d’efficacité dans son domaine de prédilection : la gestion de projet.

Qu’est-ce que JIRA ?

Disponible tant en téléchargement que dans le cloud, JIRA est un logiciel de gestion de projet informatique développé par les Australiens de chez Atlassian.

On a donc :

  • JIRA Server, une offre téléchargeable, à installer sur son propre serveur.
  • et JIRA Cloud, une offre tout-en-un d’Atlassian, dans le cloud, sans rien d’autre à penser que son utilisation.

Dans tous les cas, que ce soit en mode hébergé ou en mode SaaS, l’équipe de JIRA a pensé à tailler ses offres commerciales selon la taille des équipes, tout en sachant que la version Cloud est quand même limitée à 10 000 utilisateurs. Ce qui est déjà beaucoup.

JIRA est un produit d'Atlassian
JIRA est un produit d’Atlassian

L’objectif premier de JIRA est de proposer un écosystème cohérent et multidimensionnel pour permettre à une équipe pluridisciplinaire de sortir ses produits logiciels en temps et en heure. Ainsi, il permet entre autres la planification de chaque tâche, la visualisation de l’activité de l’équipe, le suivi des priorités et la création de rapports en temps réel. Chose, évidemment, qui n’empêche pas d’utiliser JIRA pour d’autres projets, comme la gestion de tickets par exemple.

Scrum et Kanban comme méthodes de travail

D’emblée, JIRA propose Scrum, Kanban et leurs workflows comme méthodes de travail. Au choix, évidemment.

Il faut savoir que Scrum et Kanban sont les deux cadres de travail Agile les plus utilisés dans le monde de la gestion de projets. Ils favorisent une plus grande réactivité face aux demandes clients (sans pour autant remplacer votre logiciel CRM préféré).

Aperçu du Scrum sur JIRA

Le but du Scrum est de fabriquer des produits par petits à-coups (comptés en semaine) et ce de manière incrémentielle. Du coup, au lieu d’avoir 1 long travail de développement à faire sur 3 mois, on en aura 6 petits de 2 semaines. C’est un exemple. Ce procédé est itératif et permet d’avoir une vision plus précise d’un projet (qui fait quoi, pour quand, quels sont les blocages, etc.).

Le framework Scrum est utilisé dans JIRA
Le framework Scrum est utilisé dans JIRA

Dans un Scrum, il faut 3 rôles que JIRA identifie aisément : le Product owner (le représentant des utilisateurs finaux ou du client et qui connaît ses besoins), le Scrum master (le garant de l’application du cadre Scrum) et le reste de l’équipe de développement.

Sans aller dans les détails de ce framework de travail, JIRA vous permet facilement de créer des sprints, des stand-up meetings, des sprints review (revue de sprint), des sprints retrospective (rétrospective de sprints), etc. De quoi optimiser efficacement le rendement des équipes dans un projet.

Vraiment complet et personnalisable, JIRA permet aux utilisateurs de personnaliser leurs workflows, de sortir facilement un graphique d’avancement (burndown chart), sans oublier, pour le Scrum master, la possibilité de sortir un rapport de sprint à tout moment.

La méthode Kanban sur JIRA

Moins restrictif que Scrum et surtout moins compliqué, Kanban permet de visualiser en un clin d’œil votre workflow pour prioriser les tâches. Là où Scrum vous fait travailler sur des sprints limités dans le temps, ce sont les tâches qui sont découpés dans Kanban.

JIRA possède différents outils pour mieux utiliser la méthode Kanban :

  • story card : personnalisables avec qr codes
  • swimlanes et colonnes : pour la modélisation des processus et des tâches
  • WIP limits (Work in Progress) : pour définir des limites aux tâches en cours de traitement (la colonne vire au rouge en cas de dépassement)
  • workflows : flux de travaux prédéfinis et personnalisables.
Un exemple simple de tableau Kanban
Un exemple simple de tableau Kanban

Association de méthodes, pourquoi pas ?

Scrumban, ça vous parle ? Kanplan peut-être ? Si vous avez toujours rêvé de mélanger le meilleur des deux mondes sans entrer dans des phases compliquées d’adaptation, JIRA vous le permet en (relativement) toute facilité grâce à ses métrics. En gros, ses graphes.

Les métrics de JIRA sont adaptatifs et très importants puisqu’ils permettent, par exemple, de visualiser les forces d’une équipe ou encore d’identifier les goulots d’étranglement dans un projet. Comme leur utilisation est indépendante du cadre de travail sélectionné, on peut du coup contrôler précisément un projet Kanban avec les bons réglages.

Avec JIRA, vous pouvez rallier le meilleur des deux mondes !
Avec JIRA, vous pouvez rallier le meilleur des deux mondes !

Commencer avec JIRA

Il est vrai que de prime abord, JIRA peut avoir l’air d’une usine à gaz. Voici donc sept astuces correspondants à sept éléments présents dans l’outil pour partir du bon pied avec ce logiciel de gestion de projet.

  1. rôle des utilisateurs : on y définit qui peut faire quoi, qui peut voir quoi, etc. Il faut commencer par là.
  2. les différents types de demandes : nécessaires pour configurer le workflow.
  3. les différents champs : qui vont de pair avec les différents types de demande.
  4. les écrans, il y en a deux types : l’écran d’opération (création de tickets, édition des tickets et vérification des tickets) et l’écran de transition (mise à jour des documents du workflow).
  5. les publications (notifications) : pour ceux qui ne sont pas présents, on peut par exemple leur envoyer un rapport par mail.
  6. la sécurité : pour limiter les accès et éviter toute tentative de falsification.
  7. les workflows : tout simplement les flux de travaux propres à Scrum et Kanban

Voilà, vous connaissez maintenant les bases pour bien expérimenter JIRA.

Quels sont les points forts et les points faibles de JIRA ?

Points forts

  • prix abordable pour les petites équipes (10 utilisateurs ou moins)
  • association avec d’autres applications (Salesforce, Confluence, Bitbucket, etc.)
  • application mobile
  • hautement personnalisable
  • métrics vraiment puissants

Points faibles

  • demande un long temps d’adaptation
  • numéros des versions difficiles à repérer
  • interface pas optimisée pour l’édition en masse

En conclusion

Je dirais que JIRA est un véritable bijou de gestion de projet. Complet (trop ?) et puissant, il offre plein de fonctionnalités à qui veut bien se donner la peine ou a le temps de l’explorer. Et c’est là que le bât blesse.

Si effectivement JIRA permet de faciliter, de simplifier et d’améliorer les flux de développement, peu importe la taille de l’équipe grâce aux méthodes agiles, elle demande un vrai temps d’adaptation pour ce faire. Une motivation que tout le monde n’aura forcément pas. Le revers de la médaille pour avoir un outil complet sûrement.

Je conseille donc vivement de s’orienter vers sa version d’essai pour commencer et de ne contracter que si l’on arrive à se faire la main dessus. Ici, l’essayer n’est pas forcément l’adopter tellement il y a à faire !

Lire aussi > Création d’un projet dans Openflex [Tuto vidéo]

LAISSER UN COMMENTAIRE

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here