For Madagascar’s first participation in the CAN, which was not won over by the beauty of the Barea’s official jerseys ? The fabric is of very good quality, but in addition, they are impregnated with the symbols of the zebu, the ravinala and the Aloalo. Most of us already know the first two symbols, but do you know the true meaning of this symbol ? So before supporting our national team, here is an article about everything good to know about Aloalo Malagasy. Have a good reading !

What is Aloalo Malagasy ?

Before you start, remove from your head that the Aloalo Malagasy is just a simple drawing stuck on the official jersey of our national football team… It’s not that at all ! Or rather not only that ! In fact, this are « Vita Malagasy » wooden sculptures that are mainly used as funeral poles for the Mahafaly and Antandroy ethnic groups in the south of the Grande-Île.

Aloalo malagasy is an art originating from the Mahafaly ethnic group in southwest Madagascar
Aloalo malagasy is an art originating from the Mahafaly ethnic group in southwest Madagascar

The art of Aloalo Malagasy is a culture originating from the Mahafaly ethnic group that appeared between the 16th and 17th centuries. Its neighbour, the Antandroy ethnic group, also became fond of this practice after a few years. According to the Malagasy Academy, Aloalo literally specifies ornament. It can therefore be considered as a totem pole. That’s why they fall into the category of funerary art.

What does Aloalo Malagasy really represent ?

Today, some Malagasy still firmly believe that Aloalo means exclusively death… I tell you, it is a preconceived notion. In the great south of Madagascar, these woodcarved arts are made in honour of the life of the person who has just died. They are built on the deceased’s tomb to decorate and embellish it.

Women and children are not allowed to attend the Aloalo malagasy depot ritual
Women and children are not allowed to attend the Aloalo malagasy depot ritual

But they also represent the importance given to people who are still alive. The practice of this art, to this day, strengthens and validates the respect that the Mahafaly and Antandroy have for their ancestors. Aloalo is officially part of Malagasy art, and is now very popular among the Mahafaly, Antandroy and other Malagasy ethnic groups.

On a tomb you can see at least two pairs of these sculptures. The social and economic status of the deceased is reflected in the number of Aloalo on the tomb. A very important detail, do not forget the objects at the top of the Aloalo, because they represent the personality, but also the memorable facts of the person’s life. On some Aloalo, zebus horns can be found to represent the prosperity of the deceased.

The different parts of the Aloalo

If you have already done some tourism in Madagascar, especially in the province of Toliara, you have probably noticed the different traditional patterns as well as the parts on the posts of Aloalo Malagasy. Indeed, you can see that the Aloalo Malagasy are on average 1.5m high.

They are divided into three distinct parts. First, there is the head of the Aloalo, where we see the scenes that represent the most unforgettable events in the life of the deceased. In the middle, the body is composed of several patterns. We find the full moon at the highest level, but also the sleeping puppy and the adornment alternating. And finally the foot of the Aloalo Malagasy where more than half of this part is stoned.

The Aloalo Malagasy is composed of three distinct parts, the highest of which represents the personality or significant events in the life of the deceased
The Aloalo Malagasy is composed of three distinct parts, the highest of which represents the personality or significant events in the life of the deceased

As I have already explained above, Aloalo is made of wood. Indeed, Aloalo is made with the special wood called Nendoravy. As tradition dictates, the deceased’s coffin and the Aloalo must be carved far enough from the village, preferably in a forest by a person outside the family.

Aloalo Malagasy today : a « modern » art

It is true that Aloalo is characteristic of the two tribes of southern Madagascar, Mahafaly and Antandroy, but with the advance of today’s world, Aloalo Malagasy does not remain on its status as a simple funeral post. Indeed, you can find the Aloalo in the house as a decoration.

Talented craftsmen have made key rings, jewellery, and even clothes just like Aloalo Malagasy
Talented craftsmen have made key rings, jewellery, and even clothes just like Aloalo Malagasy

But as you can also see in the various specialized shops, the Aloalo is now linked to clothes, jewellery, key chains, and many others. In short, our talented craftsmen have been inspired by this funerary art to create other craft products in order to give more value to « made in Mada » products.

After this short summary on Aloalo Malagasy, I hope you are finally focused on the definition and representation of this art. For you women, a little advice, these new Malagasy handicrafts will give an added value to your house. And for the men, you can proudly wear our national team jersey (always the ones that are authentic please) as a Malagasy patriot !

See also -> What are the habitants of Madagascar called ?

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Pour la première participation de Madagascar à la CAN, qui n’a pas été conquis par la beauté des maillots officiels des Barea ? Le tissu est de très bonne qualité, mais en plus, ils sont imprégnés des symboles du zébu, du ravinala et de l’Aloalo. La plupart d’entre nous connaissent déjà les deux premiers symboles, mais connaissez-vous vraie la signification de l’Aloalo ? Donc avant de soutenir notre équipe nationale, voici un article parlant de tout ce qui est bon à savoir sur l’Aloalo Malagasy. Bonne lecture !

L’Aloalo Malagasy, c’est quoi ?

Avant de commencer, enlevez de votre tête que l’Aloalo Malagasy n’est qu’un simple dessin collé sur le maillot officiel de notre équipe nationale de football… Ce n’est pas du tout ça ! Ou plutôt pas seulement ça ! En fait, les Aloalo Malagasy sont des sculptures en bois « Vita Malagasy » qui servent essentiellement de poteaux funéraires chez les ethnies Mahafaly et Antandroy, dans le Sud de la Grande-Île.

L'Aloalo malagasy est un art originaire de l'ethnie Mahafaly, dans le Sud-Ouest de Madagascar
L’Aloalo malagasy est un art originaire de l’ethnie Mahafaly, dans le Sud-Ouest de Madagascar

L’art de l’Aloalo Malagasy est une culture originaire de l’ethnie Mahafaly apparue entre le 16è et le 17è siècle. Sa voisine, l’ethnie Antandroy s’est aussi prise d’affection pour cette pratique après quelques années. Selon l’académie malgache, Aloalo spécifie littéralement ornement. L’on peut donc le considérer comme étant un totem. C’est pour cela qu’ils entrent dans la catégorie de l’art funéraire.

Que représente vraiment l’Aloalo Malagasy ?

Aujourd’hui, certains Malgaches croient encore fermement que Aloalo signifie exclusivement la mort… Je vous le dis, c’est une idée reçue. Dans le grand Sud de Madagascar, ces arts sculptés dans du bois sont faits en l’honneur du vécu de celui qui vient de mourir. Ils sont édifiés sur le tombeau du défunt pour le décorer et l’embellir.

Les femmes et les enfants ne sont pas autorisés à assister au rituel du dépôt de l'Aloalo malagasy
Les femmes et les enfants ne sont pas autorisés à assister au rituel du dépôt de l’Aloalo malagasy

Mais, ils représentent aussi l’importance donnée aux personnes toujours vivantes. La pratique de cet art, jusqu’à aujourd’hui, fortifie et valide bien le respect qu’ont les Mahafaly et les Antandroy pour leurs ancêtres. L’Aloalo fait officiellement partie de l’art malagasy, et il est aujourd’hui très prisé chez les Mahafaly, Antandroy et autres ethnies malgaches.

Sur une tombe vous pouvez voir au moins deux paires de ces sculptures. Le statut social et économique du défunt se reflète sur le nombre de Aloalo sur le tombeau. Un détail très important, il ne faut pas oublier les objets en haut de l’Aloalo, car ils représentent la personnalité, mais aussi les faits mémorables de la vie de la personne. Sur certains Aloalo, l’on peut trouver de cornes de zébus, pour représenter la prospérité du défunt.

Les différentes parties de l’Aloalo

Si vous avez déjà fait un peu de tourisme à Madagascar, surtout dans la province de Toliara, vous avez sûrement remarqué les différents motifs traditionnels ainsi que les parties sur les poteaux d’Aloalo Malagasy. En effet, vous pouvez voir que les Aloalo Malagasy mesurent en moyenne 1,5m de hauteur.

Ils sont divisés en trois parties bien distinctes. D’abord, il y a la tête de l’Aloalo, où l’on voit les scènes qui représentent les faits les plus inoubliables dans la vie du défunt. Au milieu, le corps est composé de plusieurs motifs. Nous trouvons la pleine lune au plus haut, mais aussi le chiot endormi et la parure en alternance. Et enfin le pied de l’Aloalo Malagasy où plus de la moitié de cette partie est empierrée.

L'Aloalo Malagasy est composé de trois parties bien distinctes, le plus haut représente la personnalité ou les faits marquants de la vie du défunt
L’Aloalo Malagasy est composé de trois parties bien distinctes, le plus haut représente la personnalité ou les faits marquants de la vie du défunt

Comme je l’ai déjà expliqué un peu plus haut, l’Aloalo est fait avec du bois. En effet, l’Aloalo se fabrique avec le bois un peu particulier que l’on appelle Nendoravy. Comme le veut la tradition, le cercueil de défunt ainsi que les Aloalo doivent être sculptés assez loin du village, de préférence dans une forêt par une personne en dehors de la famille.

L’Aloalo Malagasy aujourd’hui : un art « moderne »

Il est vrai que l’Aloalo est caractéristique des deux tribus du Sud de Madagascar, Mahafaly et Antandroy. Mais avec l’avancée du monde d’aujourd’hui, l’Aloalo Malagasy ne reste pas sur son statut de simple poteau funéraire. En effet, l’on peut trouver l’Aloalo dans la maison sous forme de décoration.

Des artisans talentueux ont confectionné des porte-clés, des bijoux, et même des vêtements à l'image d'Aloalo malagasy
Des artisans talentueux ont confectionné des porte-clés, des bijoux, et même des vêtements à l’image d’Aloalo malagasy

Mais comme vous pouvez le voir aussi dans les différentes boutiques spécialisées, l’Aloalo est maintenant lié à des vêtements, des bijoux, des porte-clés, et bien d’autres. Bref, nos talentueux artisans ont su s’inspirer de cet art funéraire pour créer d’autres produits artisanaux afin de donner plus de valeur aux produits « made in Mada ».

Après ce petit résumé sur l’Aloalo Malagasy, j’espère bien que vous êtes enfin fixés sur la définition et la représentation de cet art. Pour vous les femmes, petit conseil, ces nouveaux produits artisanaux malgaches donneront une valeur ajoutée à votre maison. Et pour les hommes, vous pouvez fièrement porter le maillot de notre équipe nationale (toujours ceux qui sont authentiques s’il vous plait) en tant que patriote Malagasy !

Lire aussi > L’art Malagasy en France : la culture malgache reconnue dans l’Hexagone

LAISSER UN COMMENTAIRE

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here